New Levels Mean New Devils

For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ,” 2 Corinthians 10:3-5 (NKJV)

I can look back over the last several years and see times of growth in my life that seem to have been derailed by one thing or another. These were times when I could “feel” myself growing spiritually and sense that a change was coming. On more than one of these occasions something happened and I never went to that next level in my spiritual life.

In the last few weeks I have felt myself growing spiritually. There have been several things that God has shown me through the Scripture that need to change in my life. I have started changing many of these things. I can sense my faith and confidence in God growing and I really feel that I am moving forward in my spiritual life. Last week as I was thinking on these things, I became aware of what seemed to be an increased spiritual attack that was threatening to derail the growth and change that the Lord was bringing into my life.

Have you ever had something like this happen in your life? Have you never noticed that anytime we make some sort of commitment to God that something arises that specifically challenges that commitment. You determine that you are going to be a generous giver and a large unexpected bill arises. You determine to get up early and have quiet time before starting your day and the neighbor’s dog keeps you up all night barking. This is what was going on with me. It was really frustrating to me and as I headed to the gym I was wondering why this kept happening. That was when I remembered something I heard a pastor from North Carolina say, “New levels mean new devils.”

Any time that we try to move to the next level in our relationship with Christ, we can expect that new devils will arise to seek to prevent us from keeping this commitment. Satan doesn’t want us to be fully devoted followers of Christ. He doesn’t want parents to raise their children to love and serve Christ. He doesn’t want Christians to rise up and be the Spirit filled people of God that redeem the time, share the Gospel, steward their money, use their spiritual gifts for the glory of God and experience joy, peace, satisfaction and delight through our relationship with Jesus Christ. Make no mistake, he is willing to fight to prevent us from experiencing these things and he fights dirty.

The Bible makes it clear that believers are in a spiritual battle. Our enemies are usually defined as the world, the flesh and the devil. The Bible says that even though we live in the flesh, we do not fight this battle according to the flesh. Instead, God has given us spiritual weapons to fight these spiritual battles. In the blog posts this week, I’ll discuss how to fight the world, the flesh and the devil with the spiritual weapons God has given us.

One thought on “New Levels Mean New Devils

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

