Pray For God’s Will To Be Done

conflict

Praying for God’s will to be done is more complicated than it first appears. The reason for this is that God’s will and my will aren’t necessarily the same thing. God’s will in this conflict…

May not be what I want to be done.

May involve me admitting I was totally in the wrong.

May involve me doing something I am totally uncomfortable doing.

May involve any number of things that may be unpleasant to me.

But if I really want to deal with conflict in a Christ-like manner I must pray for God’s will to be done.

If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking.” James 1:5 (NLT)

This verse contains some precious promises and a very challenging statement. James tells us that if we want to know what God wants us to do about any situation all we have to do is ask and He will tell us. I like the part that says, “He will not rebuke you for asking.”

When I first arrived at the 101st Airborne Division (the world’s most powerful division) I was instantly made a team leader, and then a couple of weeks later my squad leader went to Ranger School and I was made a squad leader. My platoon sgt was named SFC Keeler and he really didn’t like me. Since I was new to a leadership position I had lots of questions about what I was supposed to do. The only person I could really ask was SFC Keeler. So when I had a question about what I should do I would go to him and ask him. For every question I asked he had a pat answer. It was, “Ross, are you stupid or just trying to tick me off?” James tells us that when we go to God and ask Him what He wants us to do about this conflict His response will never be, “Are you stupid or are you just trying to tick me off?

Praying for God’s will to be done is one of the most basic elements of prayer. This is how Jesus taught us to pray.

Your kingdom come. Your will be done On earth as it is in heaven.” Matthew 6:10 (NKJV)

It’s important to understand what we are saying when we pray this. Let me tell you a bit about what it means to pray for God’s will to be done on earth as it is in heaven.

In heaven God’s will is done immediately. When God says go, the angels go. There is no hesitation, no questions, they just Go.

In heaven God’s will is done completely. The angels don’t just do the part of God’s will that is convenient, and comfortable for them to do. They do it all.

In heaven God’s will is done enthusiastically.  The angels don’t grumble and gripe about “having” to do God’s will. They are glad to be able to serve the God that is great and awesome.

When you pray for God to show you what His will is you must be willing to do God’s will no matter what that may be. If you are not willing to do that you are not genuinely seeking God’s will. What you are wanting is for God to bless your will. Which He will not do.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” Proverbs 3:5-6 (NLT)

There is a direct connection to genuinely seeking God’s will and His directing you in it. When you are praying for God to show you what His will for you to do during a conflict you must be…

Willing to do Gods will no matter what it is.

Willing to do it immediately.

Willing to do it completely.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

