Developing A Personal Spiritual Growth Plan-Prayer

myplan

Praying to the great God of heaven is one of the greatest and most amazing privileges we have as believers. We know that as believers we live in the presence of God. God is omni-present so He is always with us and has promised that He will never leave us nor forsake us. That being said, there is something special about prayer that reminds us of His presence and helps us connect with God.

Pray Because I Love God. “I love the LORD, because He has heard My voice and my supplications. Because He has inclined His ear to me, Therefore I will call upon Him as long as I live.” Psalm 116:1-2 (NKJV) These two verses give us a perfect picture of how prayer is supposed to be. Since we love God we want to spend time praying to Him.

Focus On God As My Father. “In this manner, therefore, pray: Our Father in heaven…” Matthew 6:9 (NKJV) Prayer is talking to my Heavenly Father. This will absolutely free my prayer from the realm of awkward and uncomfortable and moves it to the realm the deep and passionate.

Pray Specifically. One way to help have a more meaningful time of prayer is to make a prayer list to pray over. You can create a list of family, friends, church family, lost, and needs to pray for.

My commitment regarding prayer:

Here are some tips to ensure that your commitment is truly a commitment that helps you grow in godliness.

Your commitment should be specific. Specific commitments are always better than general commitments. To make commitments specific, they must explain exactly what is expected. “I commit to pray” is not specific enough. “I commit to pray more” is not specific enough. When are you going to pray? How often? How long? These are the kinds of questions that should be spelled out in your commitment.

Your commitment should be measurable. The idea here is that if a commitment is not measurable, it is not possible to know whether you are making progress toward successful completion. Measuring progress is supposed to help you stay on track and keep your commitment.

Your commitment should be attainable. This stresses the importance of commitments that are realistic and attainable. While an attainable commitment should stretch you in order to achieve it, the commitment is not extreme. The commitment should be challenging but attainable. In the end, unattainable commitment will discourage you and keep you from keeping your commitment.

With all of this in mind, an example of a commitment to pray would be something like this. Monday-Friday I’m going to pray from 7:00AM to 7:30AM.  Since Saturday is my day off I’m going to pray from 9:30 AM to 10:00 AM. Sunday from 8:00 AM to 8:30 AM  I will spend time praying for the services that day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

