For Me (And For You)

Tuesday night I was reading in my Bible just sorta looking for something to meditate on for the next couple of days. As I was doing this I also had in the back of my mind that on Wednesday night we were going to take part in the Lord’s Supper. The words from 1 Corinthians 11:24 about the body of my Lord being broken for me turned my mind to Isaiah 52:13-53:12. What better passage to have in my mind to meditate on during Holy Week than the prophecy of Jesus as the suffering servant.

As I was reading through this precious passage the Holy Spirit kept saying to me, “For you”.  It’s easy enough to become so familiar with the story of Jesus’ death and resurrection that we lose, or forget, the personal nature of what happened on this day. What happened to Jesus was for me (and for you). So what I did Tuesday night was I went through my Bible and put myself in the story, so to speak. On this Good Friday where we commemorate the death of Jesus for our sins, take the time to read through this passage and put yourself in the story so you can always remember that what happened on Good Friday was for you.

 

Isaiah 52:13-53:12 NKJV

(13) Behold, My Servant shall deal prudently; He shall be exalted and extolled and be very high.

(14) Just as many were astonished at you, So His visage was marred (for me) more than any man, And His form more than the sons of men; (for me)

(15) So shall He sprinkle many nations. Kings shall shut their mouths at Him; For what had not been told them they shall see, And what they had not heard they shall consider.

(1) Who has believed our report? And to whom has the arm of the LORD been revealed?

(2) For He shall grow up before Him as a tender plant, And as a root out of dry ground. He has no form or comeliness; And when we see Him, There is no beauty that we should desire Him.

(3) He is despised and rejected by (me) men, A Man of sorrows and acquainted with grief. And (I) we hid, as it were, (my) our faces from Him; He was despised, and (I) we did not esteem Him.

(4) Surely He has borne our (my) griefs And carried our (my) sorrows; Yet (I) we esteemed Him stricken, Smitten by God, and afflicted.

(5) But He was wounded for our (my) transgressions, He was bruised for our (my) iniquities; The chastisement for our (my) peace was upon Him, And by His stripes we are (I am) healed.

(6) All we like sheep (I) have gone astray; We (I) have turned, every one, to his (my) own way; And the LORD has laid on Him the (my) iniquity of us all.

(7) He was oppressed and He was afflicted, (for me) Yet He opened not His mouth; He was led as a lamb to the slaughter, And as a sheep before its shearers is silent, So He opened not His mouth.

(8) He was taken from prison and from judgment, And who will declare His generation? For He was cut off from the land of the living; For the (my) transgressions of My people He was stricken.

(9) And they made His grave with the wicked– But with the rich at His death, Because He had done no violence, Nor was any deceit in His mouth.

(10) Yet it pleased the LORD to bruise Him; (for me) He has put Him to grief.(for me) When You make His soul an offering for (my) sin, He shall see His seed, He shall prolong His days, And the pleasure of the LORD shall prosper in His hand.

(11) He shall see the labor of His soul, and be satisfied. By His knowledge My righteous Servant shall justify (me) many, For He shall bear their (my) iniquities.

(12) Therefore I will divide Him a portion with the great, And He shall divide the spoil with the strong, Because He poured out His soul unto death, (for me) And He was numbered with the transgressors,  (for me) And He bore the (my) sin of many, And made intercession for (me) the transgressors.

 

Make plenty of time today to think deeply about what Jesus has done for you on the cross and then let that move you to prayer, praise, and personal devotion.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

