Praying For The Kingdom To Come

Your kingdom come. Your will be done On earth as it is in heaven.” Matthew 6:10 (NKJV)

Jesus said we are to pray for the Kingdom to come. That is a huge, huge prayer. When we pray for the Kingdom to come we are basically praying for God’s rule and reign to be evident to the world around us. When we are praying for the Kingdom to come, we are praying for God’s will to be done in the situation for which we are praying. When God’s kingdom comes, all that’s wrong will be set right. When God’s kingdom comes, God’s will is always done. It is on praying for God’s will to be done that I think we get messed up.

I know that often I’ve prayed about a situation and ended my prayer by saying “but let your will be done…”  There were two basic thing I meant when I’ve prayed this. 1) I don’t know what God’s will is in this situation. 2) Whatever happens must be God’s will. Has anyone else ever prayed that way? What if I told you that in many, maybe even most, situations we can know what God’s will is and that not everything that happens is God’s will?

I’ve come to believe that the church as a whole has become to accepting of things that are not God’s will. What I mean is that there are some things that are clearly not God’s will, and we tend to just accept them as God’s will. We accept them as, “This is just how it is…” or “There’s not really anything we can do…” This is not a “Your kingdom come, your will be done…” kind of prayer. When we pray for God’s Kingdom to come into a situation, we are praying for God to powerfully move into this situation and do in it NOW what will be done when His Kingdom fully comes. How can we know what God’s will is so that we can pray for His will to be done, and His Kingdom to come? We look to Scripture. Scripture reveals to us the will, want, and mind of God. I think we miss a powerful help in prayer when we don’t pray Scripture.

What I want to do now is give you a prayer guide with both Scriptures, and prayer based on those Scriptures. The prayers I’m giving aren’t secret, magical prayers that have all the right words in them. Instead, it’s just to show you how I pray Scripture so that you can begin to do it for yourself if you aren’t familiar with praying Scripture.

Prayers For Ourselves

You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men.  You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.  Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.  Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:13-16 (NKJV)

There are three ideas associated with being salt.

Value-Salt was extremely valuable. The phrase, “Worth his salt…”referred to a Roman soldier who was worth the salt he was paid. As believers we are meant to add value to everything we’re a part of.

Influence– Salt was also used as a preservative. It was rubbed into meat to slow down the decaying process. A part of the idea of being salt in the world is that we are to be a positive influence on the world for Jesus Christ.

Thirst-When you eat salt you get thirsty. We should make people thirsty for Jesus.

Light refers to our testimony before the world. We want to have a Christ honoring testimony in the world. We want people to see Jesus in us through everything we do as individuals, and everything we do as a Church.

Father let me add value to everything I’m a part of, church, work, friendships, everything. Give me a righteous influence on everyone I’m around. Let people see Jesus, and want Jesus because of the way I live.”

So, as much as is in me, I am ready to preach the gospel to you who are in Rome also.  For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek.” Romans 1:15-16 (NKJV)

“Father help me to be so grounded in the Gospel that I am ready to share it with anyone at a moment’s notice. Never let me be ashamed of the Gospel but fully convinced in its power to save souls and change lives.”

O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You In a dry and thirsty land Where there is no water.” Psalm 63:1 (NKJV)

“Father give me a deep desire for you that cannot be satisfied by anything but you. When I seek you, let me find you. Wake me up each day with a desire to seek you stronger than the one I had the day before.”

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us,” Ephesians 3:20 (NKJV)

“Heavenly Father, let me never limit your power. Give me a greater understanding of all that you can do in me, through me, and for me. Let me live with anticipation of seeing you do exceedingly abundantly above all that I can ask or imagine.”

Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead,  I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14 (NKJV)

“Father, my failures, and my successes, are in the past. Help me to not limit myself because of my failures, or rest in my successes. Guide me to press forward until I am all You’ve saved me to be, and am doing all that you want me to do.”

Prayers For Our Church

Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.” 2 Corinthians 3:17 (NKJV)

“Father, where Your Spirit is, there is liberty. Give us liberty to worship you in spirit and in truth. Let there be great liberty in for the preaching of the Word. Let there be liberty for people to response to whatever You are dealing with them about through Your Word.”

in humility correcting those who are in opposition, if God perhaps will grant them repentance, so that they may know the truth,  and that they may come to their senses and escape the snare of the devil, having been taken captive by him to do his will.” 2 Timothy 2:25-26 (NKJV)

“Father, grant repentance in our services so people will know the truth, so they can come to their senses and escape the snare of the devil since they have been taken captive to do his will”

I will deliver you from the Jewish people, as well as from the Gentiles, to whom I now send you,  to open their eyes, in order to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and an inheritance among those who are sanctified by faith in Me.‘ Acts 26:17-18 (NKJV)

“Father, open spiritually blind eyes so they can turn them from darkness to light, from the power of Satan to the power of Christ. Let them receive the forgiveness of sins and the inheritance that comes through faith in Jesus.”

All things have been delivered to Me by My Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father. Nor does anyone know the Father except the Son, and the one to whom the Son wills to reveal Him.  Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:27-30 (NKJV)

“Father, reveal Jesus to everyone who gathers in our church. Let them see Jesus calling them to come to Him and lay their burdens down. Help them to take up His yoke and follow Him.”

giving thanks to the Father who has qualified us to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in the light.  He has delivered us from the power of darkness and conveyed us into the kingdom of the Son of His love,  in whom we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins.” Colossians 1:12-14 (NKJV)

“Father, qualify those who gather with us to be a partakers of the inheritance of the saints in the light. Deliver them from the power of darkness and bring them into the Kingdom of Your dear Son. Give them redemption through Jesus’ blood, and the forgiveness of sins.”

But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.” 2 Corinthians 3:18 (NKJV)

“Father, work in our services and change us all. Let us never be satisfied with anything less than being Christlike. Change from glory to glory every time we gather.”

Prayers For Our Children

My son, if sinners entice you, Do not consent.  If they say, “Come with us, Let us lie in wait to shed blood; Let us lurk secretly for the innocent without cause;  Let us swallow them alive like Sheol, And whole, like those who go down to the Pit;  We shall find all kinds of precious possessions, We shall fill our houses with spoil;  Cast in your lot among us, Let us all have one purse”–  My son, do not walk in the way with them, Keep your foot from their path;  For their feet run to evil, And they make haste to shed blood. Proverbs 1:10-16 (NKJV)

“Father, do not let our kids be enticed by sinners. Don’t let them walk in the way with them, keep their feet from their path. Don’t let their feet run to evil.”

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.  And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:1-2 (NKJV)

“Father, help our kids to truly understand how merciful you’ve been to them. Let them respond by giving themselves to you wholly as living sacrifices. Help them to not be conformed to this world but transform them by renewing their mind. Show them how good your will truly is and let them devote themselves to it.”

“Therefore, King Agrippa, I was not disobedient to the heavenly vision, Acts 26:19 (NKJV)

Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying:  “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.”  Then said I: “Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, I cannot speak, for I am a youth.”  But the LORD said to me: “Do not say, ‘I am a youth,’ For you shall go to all to whom I send you, And whatever I command you, you shall speak.  Do not be afraid of their faces, For I am with you to deliver you,” says the LORD.  Then the LORD put forth His hand and touched my mouth, and the LORD said to me: “Behold, I have put My words in your mouth.  See, I have this day set you over the nations and over the kingdoms, To root out and to pull down, To destroy and to throw down, To build and to plant.” Jeremiah 1:4-10 (NKJV)

“Father, give our kids Your vision for their lives and let them devote themselves to fulfilling it. Don’t let them limit what you want to do in them, through them, and for them as they seek to fulfill this vision. Work in them, through them, and for them to accomplish great things for Your glory.”

All the things on this list are Scripture and so we can say that they absolutely are God’s will. These are Your Kingdom come, Your will be done kinds of prayers because when God’s Kingdom comes, and His will is done, this is what it will look like. We can take this principle of praying Scripture and use it to pray other Scripture as well.

3 thoughts on “Praying For The Kingdom To Come

Add yours

  1. Very interesting. Thanks for your insight! I just love this post, although you always have great stuff. Keep up the good work for Him, I know He’s pleased by it. 🙂

    ~ Collin
    FoundWhoIAm.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

