Devotional Thoughts From 1 Corinthians 1

Today my daily Bible reading took me to 1 Corinthians 1. I thought I’d share some of the thoughts I had as I read. 

Trust in the righteousness that Christ has given you (verse 2). Paul’s greeting to the Corinthians believers is pretty amazing in light of what we know about them from later. Despite all the issues, and sin in the congregation Paul greets them by calling them sanctified saints. His basis for that introduction is that they have called upon Jesus. The righteousness that Jesus give us isn’t dependent on our goodness but His. Rest in this. 

The need in most churches isn’t so much for more gifted people, but for the gifted people already present to use their gifts (verses 4-7). The church had been enriched in everything so they came short in no gift. what God wanted that church to accomplish at that time had already been given to them.  I’m pretty convinced it’s the same in most of our churches today as well.

Jesus doesn’t give up on us so we shouldn’t give up on Him (verse 8). He who began a good work will complete it so don’t give up when it’s tough, don’t give up when you struggle, and don’t give up when you fail. Don’t give up. 

Unity in the church is really important (verse 10). Some things are worth fighting over but most things we fight about don’t meet this criteria. Choose unity over division. 

Christ doesn’t need us to be clever with the Gospel, He just needs us to be faithful (verse 17). If we aren’t careful our cleverness with the Gospel will empty the Gospel of its power. 

My view of the cross says a lot about the condition of my soul (verse 18). 

The Gospel message is necessary for salvation  (verse 21). The natural wisdom of man will never lead one to repent of their sins and confess Jesus as Savior and Lord. The Gospel message is a must. 

What Jesus has done in me, through me, and for me are the only things worth boasting about (verse 30-31). Our human accomplishments won’t matter when we stand before Jesus. Only what He has done in our behalf will matter. 

Those are the things I thought of as I studied 1 Corinthians 1 today. What are some things you see in that chapter?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

